Resource Center

Nov 20, 2018, 11:31

Resource Center

In this section you will find information about online and other useful resources for professionals in the field. Please use the links below or the right side navigation menu to access them. If you would like to submit a useful Web site, blog or other resource, please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Sign Up Now

Sign up for the FREE subscription to CAFÉ’s monthly e-zine “The Gold Medal Classroom.” Each issue features both industry need-to-know articles as well as columnists who focus on educational best practices.

In addition, you will receive weekly updates from the CAFÉ office which brings you the all-important calendar of events, news of contests, D.E.A.L (Deals for education and learning) of the week, conference presenter highlights, and more.

There is no cost to this subscription and we urge you to share this link with your fellow instructors and deans and directors. Any questions? Contact the CAFÉ office at 410-268-5542.

Sign Up Now

Industry Resource Listing

Classifications

1 = CEU’s/ CEH’s

2 = Class outlines and/or specific curriculum content

3 = Classroom visual materials

4 = Downloadable materials from website

5 = Industry related blog

6 = Research materials and analytical data

7 = Online videos

8 = Recipes/Menu trends

9 = Nutrition 

 
Meat, Poultry, Game
Agri Beef 1-9 www.agribeef.com/education/
American Lamb Board  1-9 www.americanlamb.com/chefs-corner/curriculamb/ 
Butterball Foodservice 2-9 www.butterballfoodservice.com
Maple Leaf Farms 6-9 www.mapleleaffarms.com
National Cattlemen’s Beef Association 6-9 www.beeffoodservice.com
National Pork Board 6,8,9 www.porkfoodservice.org
National Turkey Federation 5,6,8,9 www.eatturkey.org
North American Meat Institute 5,6,9

www.meatinstitute.org

Seafood
 
Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute 1-9, Best Practices www.alaskaseafood.org
Australis Fish 5,6,8,9 www.thebetterfish.com
Bureau of Seafood and Aquaculture 8 www.freshfromflorida.com/Recipes/Seafood
National Aquaculture Association 2-9 thenaa.net
Produce
American Egg Board 2-9 www.aeb.org
Apricot Producers of California 8,9 * Farmers Market Locator www.califapricot.com
Avocados from Mexico 3-9 foodservice.avocadosfrommexico.com
California Cling Peach Board 6,8,9 www.calclingpeach.com
California Avocado Commission 3,4,6-9 www.californiaavocado.com
California Dried Plum Board 5,6,8,9 www.californiadriedplums.org
California Endive 5,6,8,9 www.endive.com
California Fig Advisory Board 6,8,9 www.californiafigs.com
California Kiwifruit Commission 3,4,6-9 www.kiwifruit.org
California Pear Advisory Board 6,8,9 www.calpear.com
California Raisin Marketing Board 3,4,6,8,9 * Dietary Tool Kit www.calraisins.org
California Strawberry Commission 6 www.calstrawberry.com
California Table Grape Commission 3,4,6,8,9 www.tablegrape.com
Cherry Marketing Institute 6,8,9 www.choosecherries.com
Concord Grape Association 6,8,9 www.concordgrape.org
Cranberry Institute 5,6,8,9 www.cranberryinstitute.org
Cranberry Marketing Committee 4,6,8,9 *Tool Kit www.uscranberries.com
Dole Packaged Foods 6-9, *Cost Savings Calculator www.dolefoodservice.com
Florida Dept. of Citrus 6,8,9 www.floridajuice.com
Hass Avocado Board 2-9 *Tool Kit www.avocadocentral.com
Idaho Potato Commission 3-9 *Cost & Sizing Guides www.idahopotato.com
Leafy Greens Council   8,9 www.leafy-greens.org
Leaf Greens Marketing Association 3,6,7 www.lgma.ca.gov/
Louisiana Sweet Potato Commission 6,8,9 www.sweetpotato.org
Mushroom Council 3-6, 8, 9 www.mushroomcouncil.org
National Honey Board 3-6,8,9 *Teacher Guide www.honey.com
National Mango Board   2-6,8,9 *Lesson Plans www.mango.org
National Onion Association 2-9, *Lesson Plans www.onions-usa.org
National Processed Raspberry Council 3-9 www.redrazz.org
National Watermelon Promotional Board 2-9 www.watermelon.org
NC Sweet Potato Commission 3-6,8,9 www.ncsweetpotatoes.com
New York Apple Association 6,8,9 www.nyapplecountry.com
North American Blueberry Council 5,6,8,9 www.blueberry.org
Northwest Cherry Growers 6,8,9 www.nwcherries.com
Olives from Spain 4,8,9 olivesfromspain.us/
Oregon Raspberries and Blackberries 3-6,8,9 www.oregon-berries.com
Pacific Northwest Canned Pear Service 3,4,6,8,9 www.eatcannedpears.com/
Pear Bureau Northwest 3,4,6-9 www.usapears.com
Pomegranate Council 6,8,9 www.pomegranates.org
Potatoes USA 1-9 www.PotatoGoodness.com
Produce for Better Health Foundation 2-9 www.5aday.com
The Soyfoods Council 6,8,9 www.thesoyfoodscouncil.com
U.S. Apple Association 5,6,8,9 www.usapple.org
USA Rice Federation 3-9 www.menurice.com
Washington Red Raspberry Commission 6 www.red-raspberry.org
Washington State Apple Commission 6,8,9 www.bestapples.com
Washington State Potato Commission 3-6,8,9 www.potatoes.com
Wheat Foods Council 2-6,8,9 *Tool kits and classroom materials www.wheatfoods.org
Wild Blueberry Assn. of North America 6,8,9 www.wildblueberries.com
Oil, Spices and Seasonings
North American Olive Oil Association 4-6,8,9 *Classroom materials www.aboutoliveoil.org
     
Nuts and Legumes
Almond Board of California 3-6,8,9 *Tool Kit www.almonds.com/food-professionals
American Pistachio Growers 4-9 www.americanpistachios.org/
California Walnut Board 3,4,6,8,9 www.walnuts.org
National Peanut Board 4,5,6,8,9 www.nationalpeanutboard.org
Dairy Products
Emmi Roth USA 7,8 *Pairing information us.emmi.com/en
Real CA Milk 3,4,6-9 www.realcaliforniamilk.com/foodservice/
Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board 3-9, *Pairing guides www.wisdairy.com
Specialty Foods
New York Wine & Grape Foundation 6 www.nywine.com
Popcorn Board 3,6,7,9 www.popcorn.org
Baking Ingredients
Guittard Chocolate Company 6,8,9 www.guittard.com
Bay State Milling Co. 5,6 www.baystatemilling.com
Classroom Technology
American Technical Publishers 1,2,3,4,7, *ACF Apprenticeship www.atplearning.com
KP Education Systems 2, 3, 4, 6, 7- 9 www.kpcurriculum.com
Live Text 7 www.livetext.com
Pearson Education 2,7 www.pearsoned.com
Manufacturing/Distributors
Barilla America 5,6,8,9 www.barilla.com/en-us
Bay State Milling Co. 5,6 www.baystatemilling.com
Dole Packaged Foods 6-9, *Cost Savings Calculator www.dolefoodservice.com
Knouse Foods 6,8,9 www.knousefoodservice.com
Mercer Culinary 3,6,7 mercerculinary.com
SYSCO 5-8 www.sysco.com
Unilever Food Solutions 6-9 www.unileverfoodsolutions.us
Verterra Dinnerware 5, *Sustainable dinnerware www.verterra.com
Publishers and Hospitality Resources
American Technical Publishers 1,2,3,4,7, *ACF Apprenticeship www.atplearning.com
Industry Organizations
American Culinary Foundation 1,2,5,6,7,9 www.acfchefs.org
American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute 1,2,6 www.ahlei.org
Club Managers Association of America 1,2,6 www.cmaa.org
Federation of Dining Room Professionals 2,4,6 www.frontsummit.com
International Food Service Executives Association 6 www.ifsea.com
National Restaurant Association 4-7 www.nraef.org
Research Chef Association 5-7 www.culinology.org
Retailer’s Bakery Association 5,6 www.retailbakersofamerica.org
Produce for Better Health Foundation 2-9 www.5aday.com

Certifications for Foodservice Educators and Industry Professionals

American Culinary Federation

  • Certified Master Chef (CMC)
  • Certified Master Pastry Chef (CMPC)
  • Certified Executive Chef (CEC)
  • Certified Executive Pastry Chef (CEPC)
  • Certified Culinary Educator (CCE)
  • Certified Chef de Cuisine (CCC)
  • Certified Personal Executive Chef (CPEC)
  • Certified Secondary Culinary Educator (CSCE)
  • Certified Working Pastry Chef (CWPC)
  • Certified Sous Chef (CSC)
  • Certified Personal Chef (CPC)
  • Certified Culinarian (CC)
  • Certified Pastry Culinarian (CPC)
  • Certified Culinary Administrator (CCA)

Professional Organizations

Send us your contact information to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to be added to this list.

Hospitality Resume Writing Tips

The purpose of one’s resume is not to get a job, but to get the first interview. Interviewing skills are very important, no matter the skill level or career level of the individual.  Communication and chemistry are very rarely overlooked just because a candidate’s skill level is high.  In hospitality we do not work alone.  We work as part of a team, and therefore companies rarely ignore a potentially disastrous culture fit because someone’s skills are superior.

Professional Cover Letters and Thank You Notes

Even though text-messages, email and casual attire sends the message that the world is a totally casual place, many “old school” business communication standards still thrive.  Using these methods effectively will establish you as a proper professional.  Crafting persuasive cover letters and courteous thank you notes will help set you apart as the right candidate for the job.